My Desperate Discovery In 2001 That Led Me To Learn How To Get Others To Create Content For Me

Posted: August 3, 2010 in Business Tips

I’m about to begin telling you a story about an important discovery I made 9 years ago that send me on the path I’m on today. 

And it’s a discovery that can help those of you who don’t have the time or desire to create content still have a method to use content marketing to help your business.

But first, let’s recap what I’ve talked to you about so far…

I’ve been talking about the need for business owners to stop relying soley on traditional marketing and begin using content marketing to connect with your prospects & customers.

I’ve talked about the most powerful form of content marketing and the need for your content to grab people’s attention or it’s useless.

I’ll keep teaching those of you who want to create content with D.I.Y. methods.  And I’ll keep revealing to you little-known, and little-used methods I’ve discovered over the last 22 years.

But I know that some of you might not have the time, energy or even desire to create content on your own. 

I’ve haven’t talked about it much here, but I thought I’d tell my story of how I put together an ebook with interviews from 20 top business, sales and marketing experts when I was a complete unknown.

It was the 1st volume of my ebooks that I call, “How You Can Survive And Prosper In A Recession”.

Some of the people I was able to interview were best-selling authors like Jay Conrad Levinson (Guerrilla Marketing) and Michael Gerber (E-Myth).

I’m going to tell you my story over the next week or so, but I’ll start the story today…

My Desperate Situation
This all started back around 1999 or so. I put up a website (a different one) and that got me interested in internet marketing and marketing in general.

That began me on a search to uncover methods that could help websites draw more traffic and keep the traffic they got.

I started to put the ideas I was learning into action.

I kept tweaking the site and at it’s highest I was getting about 5,000 visitors a month and had 1200 people as members of my message board (forum).

I kept studying online and off and bought books on marketing and internet marketing.  I studied the great marketers of the past and the current online marketers.

(I didn’t know it at the time, but this was training me for what I would later do with this site.)

I had a position in Burlingame, CA doing something I had a ton of passion for.  I really liked being there, but they weren’t able to pay me enough to survive in the area.

But, because my wife was also working, we were able to have enough money.

It was working fine until… we were blessed with our first son Jack.  We talked about it and we both decided that my wife would stop working.

You gotta understand something…

This was during the height of the “Dot Com” days and we were living on the San Francisco Peninsula (Silicon Valley)!

The money was getting tighter, so I kept reading and trying to come up with a way to make some money on the side by selling something on the internet.

Finally, I came across an idea that seemed like something I could do.

I decided I had to take a chance and try it…

I’ll tell you more of the story tomorrow.

Until then…

Spread the word! Link to it.  Tweet about it.  Blog about it. Send smoke signals.  Whatever!  Here’s how…

Click here to tweet this (make sure you’re already logged in to Twitter).
Click here to post this on Facebook.
Here’s the link you can post on your blog: http://wp.me/pfeEX-ep

Thanks,
Scott @rampbusinesses

Comments
  1. […] My Desperate Discovery In 2001 That Led Me To Learn How To Get Others To Create Content For Me […]

  2. […] you about how I got experts to create content for me, just after we had our first son.  (See  Part 1 & Part […]

  3. […] about how to create engaging content marketing and to get others to create content for you (see  Part 1, Part 2, & Part […]

Leave a comment